Board of Directors


Blake W. Smith – President

Mr. Smith of Hunt is an owner and director of Camp La Junta. He is a member of the American Camping Association, former board member of Our Lady of Hills High School, and past president and member of the Camping Association for Mutual Progress. Mr. Smith was formerly president and member of both Hunt ISD Board of Trustees and Kerrville Public Utility Board. He received a Bachelor of Arts in Biology from Trinity University. Mr. Smith was appointed to the UGRA Board in 2015.

Female Silhouette

Diane L. McMahon – Vice-President

Ms. McMahon of Kerrville is currently retired. Previously she worked for United Space Alliance, NASA. Ms. McMahon received a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Biological Sciences from the University of Houston, Clear Lake. She is currently a member of the City of Kerrville Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, an active Master Naturalist and Master Gardener, and participant in the UGRA Volunteer Summer Study. Previously, Ms. McMahon served on the Headwaters Groundwater Conservation District board for eight years. Ms. McMahon was appointed to the UGRA Board in 2015.


Aaron C. Bulkley – Secretary

Mr. Bulkley of Hunt is owner and operator of Texas Hunt Lodge, Africa Hunt Lodge, and Wildlife Market Taxidermy Studio. He currently serves as a board member for Trophy Game Records of the World. Previously, he served as a board member for Rotary Club International, president of Texas Youth Hunt, and vice president of Safari Club International, Hill Country Chapter. Mr. Bulkley attended the University of Texas at Austin where he studied international business. He is married to Joanie Bulkley, and has two young girls, Viola and Bailey. Mr. Bulkley was appointed to the UGRA Board in 2016.


Dr. William R. Rector, MD – Treasurer

Dr. Rector of Kerrville graduated from Tivy High School in 1960 and from Texas A&M in 1964. He received his MD from University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston. Dr. Rector did his internship in the Air Force followed by a three-year tour of duty in the Far East during the Vietnam War. Following his years as a flight surgeon, he left the Air Force for a residency in radiology at the University of Colorado where he developed a special interest in ultrasound working with his mentor and friend, Dr. Joseph Holmes, regarded as the “Father of American Ultrasound.”

Dr. Rector joined the teaching staff of the University of Colorado for two years followed by a year at Vanderbilt University to establish their Ultrasound Department. He then returned to Denver and later practiced for three years in Mobile, Alabama before receiving an invitation to return to Sid Peterson Memorial Hospital as a radiologist in 1980.

In addition to advancing SPMH’s ultrasound capabilities, Dr. Rector and his partners put together a group of community leaders to purchase the first CT scanner and gamma nuclear camera for Kerrville. These units were both placed in Sid Peterson Memorial Hospital. Dr. Rector served as chief of staff as well as chairman of radiology and served many years on the hospital’s medical executive committee. He retired as senior partner in 2011 after 31 years.

Dr. Rector has served on the Board of the Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce, two terms as a KISD trustee and one term on Kerrville City Council. He served on the Main Street Advisory Board and is currently on the Symphony of the Hills Board. He is also the longest serving member of the Kerr County Historical Commission. Dr. Rector is a member of the radiology residency teaching staff at Wilford Hall Hospital at Lackland AFB where he works one to two weeks per month teaching and caring for our veterans and active duty personnel. Dr. Rector was appointed to the UGRA Board in 2016.

Male Silhouette

Mike Hughes

Mr. Hughes of Ingram is former owner and operator of Broken Arrow Ranch. He is founder, director and past chairman of the Oceaneering International Board of Directors, director and past president of the Exotic Wildlife Association, a board member of the National Ocean Industries Association, director at large of the Marine Technology Society, and a member and past president of the Association of Diving Contractors. He is also a past advisory committee member of the University of Texas Marine Science Institute, and a member of the National American Standard Institute, Undersea Medical Society and Chi Epsilon- Civil Engineering Fraternity. Mr. Hughes received a bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee. Mr. Hughes was appointed to the UGRA Board in 2011.

Female Silhouette

Maggie Snow

Ms. Snow of Kerrville is the co-owner and appraiser of TexAppraise, Inc. She is a member of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers and the Appraisal Institute. She was the first woman in Texas to receive the Accredited Rural Appraiser designation. In addition, she is an adult leader of Kerr County 4-H Shooting Sports and a member of the Executive Women’s Club. Snow received her Bachelor of Science in agricultural economics from Texas A&M University.  Ms. Snow was appointed to the UGRA Board in 2018.